Leave a comment

You know what really ruffles my feathers?

Chris Fravel
Staff Writer
cfravel@lhup.edu

February 27, 2014

Religious nuts occupying the nicest part of campus.

I like to think of myself as a rather open-minded guy. It does not matter your religion, your political affiliation or your way-of-life; as long as you do not negatively impact what I am doing, I will not judge you or what you believe. However, the moment you get in my face and yell your beliefs in my ears or tell me that I am wrong because I do not believe in what you do is the moment that all bets are off.

When a person gets obnoxious with me, they might as well forget about ever winning me over to “their side.”

Yet, while these displays are clearly just radical opinions being delivered in an obnoxious manner, people still feel the need to engage these “demonstrators.”

Seriously, it needs to stop. I understand the way in which they are communicating and the message that they are spewing is insensitive to the beliefs of others, but if there is one thing I have learned with people like this, it is that the best way to get rid of them is to ignore them. Look at the Westboro Baptist Church: the more attention they get, the more prominent they are and the more power they have.

Trust me, dealing with people like this is not worth your time or energy. Instead, go study, read a book, bone-up on your political knowledge or take up a hobby. There is absolutely nothing you can say to change their mind, just like there is nothing they can say to change yours. It works both ways and it is important to remember that you should never stoop as low as the opposition. Otherwise, feathers are bound to be ruffled.

Leave a Reply

