Leave a comment

Major validation: Interest in classes

Lona Middleton
Copy Editor
lkemp@lhup.edu

April 10, 2014

How does one know when they have found the major for them? I would say it is rather a sure thing when you sit down at your computer to register for classes and you want to take them all. For myself, an English major, I encountered just that issue for the fall 2014 semester.

There I sat scanning over the multitude of English courses being offered and all I could think was “I want all the classes!” Now, I understand this is not a feasible option and yet it doesn’t stop me from trying to fit as many of them into the semester as I can.

It may seem strange to other people that I am willing to subject myself to the “torment” of hours of reading and copious amounts of papers, but that is what I love. That is how I know I am in the right major for me. I can’t help but wonder if this is how other students feel when they are in the major they know is for them. Do math majors become giddy at the thought of Calculus 4 and differential equations? How many history majors are excited when they see History of the United States Labor Movement or Renaissance and Reformation classes offered? Do Sociology majors salivate over the Juvenile Delinquency and Social Change courses that are being offered in the fall?

I honestly hope that they do. For me, this is the surest sign that they are in the major they should be. The fact that I cannot decide between the courses being offered in my major or that I get excited when the professor says there will be an essay on the exam may seem strange to some people. I laugh at literature jokes and cringe at poor grammar. I love the smell of old books and the sound of new pages being flipped. This is how I know I have found the major that is right for me. I hope everyone has this same experience in whatever major they have chosen. If not, maybe a second look is in order.

Leave a Reply

