LAX’s number one captain

Bret Pallotto
Staff Writer
bmp6070@lhup.edu

April 17, 2014

lax 1As the reigning Division II Midfielder of the Year in lacrosse, Jessica Pandolf has continued her magnificent play into her junior season.

Despite her phenomenal performances on the field, she spent countless hours rehabbing from injuries and preparing for the season that have enabled her to have success.

After tearing her anterior cruciate ligament (ACL), Pandolf began this season as a redshirt junior. As if the surgery and rehab was not enough the first time, she has returned from the injury twice now.

“The first time you dlax 2on’t really know what to expect,” said Pandolf. “ I mean, my dad and my sister also tore their ACL’s, so it’s turned into a family event now.”.

Despite being able to joke about the injury now that she is fully recovered, she also displayed perseverance while recovering for the second time.

“It was actually easier to come back the second time because I knew what I had to do and I didn’t really fall into a depressed state at all,” Pandolf said. “I didn’t feel bad for myself or wonder why it happened so it was easier to recover.”

lax 3Today Pandolf wears the jersey with the number one on it and it is due to the fact that she tore her ACL.

“The first time I tore it I wore the number two jersey,” Pandolf said. “So then I figured I would just switch and I went to one. I mean, not like that worked out for me the second time, but that’s how I changed to number one.”

Even with the injuries that she has encountered during her playing career, Pandolf continues to shine on the field for LHU.

Some numerous accolades that she has been the recipient of include: 2013 All-PSAC, All-Region, All-American selections, 2014 team captain, PSAC Freshman of the Year and was named to the Tewaaraton watch list which recognizes the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.

Regarding the awards and honors bestowed upon her for her talented play Pandolf said, “It was kind of great to get recognized for stuff like that because I feel like sometimes, in the past and even in high school, it wasn’t like I got recognized for anything so it was cool for me to experience that.”

Top two pictures courtesy of Sports Information. Bottom picture courtesy of Erika White.

Leave a Reply

