Alumni Corner: Coaching goal achieved

Joel Blesh
Alumni Contributor
Jnb5025@lhup.edu
golhu.com

When it comes to Lock Haven University, I’m all in. I received my Bachelor’s from LHU in Sports Administration in 2009, and completed my Master’s at The Haven in May of 2015. The Sport Administration program truly prepared me for the world outside of this beautiful part of Central Pennsylvania and I was ready to achieve my goals of becoming a college swim coach when I graduated. I was lucky enough to achieve my dreams and in November of 2012 I became the Head Coach of Women’s Swimming here at LHU.

I get the opportunity every day to be around an incredible group of women that I feel represent everything that a true student athlete should be. They are hardworking, determined and dig deep in adversity. I’m excited knowing that after their time here, they will be teachers, physician assistants, doctors, therapists, writers and truly anything they put their mind to when they leave. It fills me with pride knowing that they will go out and do amazing things after growing here at LHU, just like I had the opportunity to do.

I would like to take this opportunity to extend an invite to all alumni for two major events that we will be hosting. On Oct. 1 we reach out to you in what we are calling the “All In Day of Giving.” Money generated will go toward athletic scholarships to help us continue to bring the best and the brightest students to Lock Haven. More information can be found here: http://www.lhup.edu/allin

We’d also like to encourage all Alumni to return on Oct. 17  for homecoming. Whether you live here or haven’t been back in 30 years, it’s never too late to come “Home to the Haven.” More information can be found here at http://www.lhup.edu/homecoming.html

I’m all in, are you?

Leave a Reply

