Leave a comment

Alumni Corner: The Haven is your home

Kasey Blesh
Alumni Contributor
kaseyblesh@gmail.com          
Courtesy of Kasey Blesh

Courtesy of Kasey Blesh

Seven years ago I moved out of my childhood home and into North Hall to begin my freshman year at Lock Haven University.  I did not know back then that the relationships I made and the sport I participated in throughout my four years would shape my future in a major way.  Lock Haven played a huge role in the person I am today and prepared me for life after graduation more than I could have imagined when I first stepped onto campus.

I have worked for the LHU Foundation for two years and was recently given the title of Coordinator of Alumni Relations. I have been lucky enough to work in a place with people who share a passion for Lock Haven University and strive to keep its legacy of excellence alive.   Through my job I have been able to meet amazing people and listen to so many stories about Lock Haven; stories that date back as far as the 1800’s.  Our university is rich in history and I am proud to work for an organization that works everyday to preserve that history, while providing a bright future for our current students.

I was blessed with the opportunity to represent Lock Haven University as a student athlete. I remember countless early morning swimming practices in Zimmerli, weight lifting sessions in Rogers and bonding with my team at Bentley. Being a student athlete is one of the best experiences of my life and I couldn’t be happier to continue to represent Lock Haven University in my life after college and swimming. That’s why I am so proud to be working on the All In campaign that took place on Thursday, October 1st 2015. The All In Day of Giving is a 24 hour giving challenge to fundraise $50,000 in 24 hours. I would like to give my most sincere “thank you” to those involved for making the “All In” campaign go from an idea to a success! Whether you gave $10 or $500, I believe in my heart that the Lock Haven University Foundation and Lock Haven University Athletics have begun a new tradition that will last for years to come, generating thousands of dollars in scholarship money to continue to bring the best and brightest students and athletes to Lock Haven University each year.

Your college years will fly by, but I would like to encourage you to stay connected to us and stay involved.  Lock Haven doesn’t leave you just because you leave campus,and you will always be welcomed back to The Haven.

Leave a Reply

