Leave a comment

Don’t knock it till you try it: go Greek

Diosanny Rivera
Staff Writer
dkr6862@lhup.edu
Ben Crowe via flickr.com

Ben Crowe via flickr.com

Throughout this past year, I have had the opportunity to serve as a member of Lock Haven University’s Panhellenic Council, which is essentially the governing body of the 4 National Panhellenic Conference sororities we have on campus: Alpha Sigma Tau, Sigma Kappa, Zeta Tau Alpha and Sigma Sigma Sigma. From the moment I joined my organization, I knew that being a part of a sorority would be a life-changing experience, serving as a member of Panhel has only proven that. People say sorority women are catty and superficial, but that statement couldn’t be further from the truth. I have seen the women of the 4 sororities demonstrate so much love, support and acceptance towards one another, more so than even some blood-related family members. I have seen members drive their sorority sisters to the hospital, I have seen sisters create posters for one member’s dance concert, I have seen members share the intimate personal details of their life to one another, I have seen whole organizations come together for the sake of one charity and I have seen members that go above and beyond what is expected of friendship and cross more into family. People always ask me why I decided to join a sorority in the first place and these scenarios are the reason why. I know that each and every single girl in my organization, and even the girls in the other organizations, will all have my back no matter what. I know the women I surround myself with are my second family and my second home. I know they will pick me up when I’ve hit rock bottom and I know they’ll cheer me on during my times of success. Joining a sorority was a defining moment in my life and I will never regret it. And yes, I recognize that this kind of support system can come from different organizations, whether it be clubs or teams, but those types of organizations don’t have the negative stigmas attached to them that Greek Life does. The people in those organizations aren’t automatically judged whenever they tell someone what they belong to. The people in those organizations don’t have to answer ridiculous questions about the ethics or actions of their organization or how they’re “paying for their friends”. Greek Life is not for everyone, just like sports aren’t for everyone, but that doesn’t mean that those who join Greek organizations are any different than those who choose to join a sports team.

Leave a Reply

