Leave a comment

Study Abroad Stories: London, England & Paris, France

Aindrea Williams
Guest Writer
alw1476@lhup.edu
image3

Photos courtesy of Aindrea Williams

This past summer, I was given the opportunity to study abroad in Europe for ten days. I spent 5 days in London and 5 days in France. Before I left for Europe, I had a preconceived notion that everyone in France would be stuck up and constantly wearing berets and striped shirts, but I was quickly set straight on this notion upon my arrival in Paris.

During my time in Paris, France, I was truly able to immerse myself in European culture. The food was amazing; I was able to get a taste of crepes, tiramisu and escargot. I was able to visit amazing places such as Musée Louvre, the Eiffel Tower and the Palace of Versailles. The view from the Eiffel Tower was honestly the most breathtaking thing I’ve ever seen.

image1

Photos courtesy of Aindrea Williams

On my fifth day abroad, we boarded a train to our next destination, London, England. I had an amazing time there and was able to see Buckingham Palace, Big Ben and the Covent Garden. The other students and I also got to go to the Tomorrowland premiere and saw the play, Wicked, while we were in London.

My favorite thing about London was visiting the beautiful parks such as Finsbury Park and Green Park. They had beautiful scenery; I felt like I was in a magical garden.

The culture in Europe is slightly different than in the United States. Everyone there has a smartphone, but does not seem to be as engulfed in their phones as Americans are. They are more present in conversations and truly listen when you speak to them. The people in Europe, especially London, were also more polite and used manner much more frequently than Americans do.

I was also astonished to learn that there is virtually no crime in many parts of Europe. The police officers I came across didn’t carry guns or any type of weapon.

Overall, I had an amazing time in Europe. I became so much closer to the other student on the trip and learned a lot about cultures different than my own. This was my first time overseas and it was a fantastic experience. I cannot wait to travel more in the future.

Leave a Reply

