Leave a comment

Work part time, learn full time

building-804526_960_720

Photo by geralt via pixabay.com

Aaron Fleegle
Opinion Editor
ajf2892@lhup.edu

If you’re a college student, chances are that you’ve held a part-time job simultaneously.  Maybe you worked as a bartender or server at a downtown restaurant.

Perhaps you’ve worked retail and spent more than a few hours standing on a padded mat behind a cash register, repeating the same greeting to a new customer every five minutes.

Whether or not you like your job, it’s probably safe to assume that it’s mostly a temporary gig to help you get by until you graduate.

I’ve personally worked at Walmart for approximately four years. In the grand scheme of things, that’s not really a significant number. However, it has proven itself to be plenty of time to learn and develop skills for both the workplace and everyday life.

In those four years, I worked primarily in the backroom, shielding myself from customers and sticking with the position that allowed me to work comfortably with my assigned team, or sometimes by myself.

My job eventually required me to work outside of my comfort zone and while on the sales-floor, I managed to pick up a lot of social skills and gain a better grasp of customer service.

That being said, while I did learn a lot, I found myself growing less fond of my job. I like order and a decent routine, but every day at Walmart blended into the next.

Even considering that I only worked Monday, Wednesday, and Friday during the school semesters, every day seemed the same, barring which of my fellow associates worked on any particular day.

I grew tired of my corporate life. I wanted something on a much smaller scale, yet with a wider variety of responsibilities and tasks.

It is now that I can officially say that I am done with Walmart. Finding a non-corporate job that aligns with your preferred interests is a very taxing task, as I can now attest.

kitchen-731351_960_720

Photo by unsplash via pixabay.com

However, even with my official start date being two weeks away, I already feel as though I’m part of a tightly-knit family. What’s more is that I have been told that opportunities within the field of my major will actually be presented to me.

To be clear, this is not an article dedicated to lambasting Walmart and other major corporations. After all, I have gained experience and learned skills there that I probably would have never had the opportunity to gather elsewhere.

Perhaps one of the greatest things I have gained experience in from balancing school with work is proper time management, especially considering that my shifts at Walmart lasted until one in the morning, or more recently, eleven at night.

If nothing else, anyone reading this should be able to understand, appreciate, or respect the ability to work while also being a full-time student.

In fact, I would implore that most, if not all college students consider picking up a job while they work towards their degree(s).

Yes, the added stress is a frightening thought.  However, it’s clearly manageable as evidenced by a majority of students on campus, and the abilities learned will make themselves apparent almost immediately.

Leave a Reply

