“The Selection”: A thrilling battle of princesses

Amanda Thomas
Lifestyles Editor

Photo via kieracass.com

When you look at “The Selection” series by Kiera Cass, you think it’s going to be another girly novel. While it admittedly is very female-orientated, it is a thrilling couple of books that I devoured way too soon for comfort. I usually stick to adventurous sci-fi books but after much coercion from my roommate and cousin with their glowing reviews (more like raging emotional responses), I finally picked up the first book.

“The Selection” series was described to me as a combination of “The Hunger Games” and “The Bachelor,” which couldn’t be more accurate. It takes place in a dystopian society separated by castes. The lower your caste, the worse off you are in society. The lowest caste, an eight, has the worst jobs, little food, poor homes and generally struggle whereas the highest caste, a one, is the royal family.

“The Selection” is a way for the prince to find a wife with one female chosen from each region, no matter their castes. They are brought to the castle in order to fight for the Prince’s heart, but there’s more behind the selection than you’d expect.

Our protagonist, America, a five in the caste system, is a stubborn character thrown into the selection after having her heart broken by a secret boyfriend. The love triangle is a struggle in this series throughout all three books and never lets on which direction it might go.

I was hooked after the first couple pages and really loved this series. The only objection I had was that America jumps back and forth between the prince and her ex-boyfriend so often it feels like I’m watching a game of tennis. America’s emotions are all over the place and, while it does get frustrating at times, the books themselves are amazing and I would recommend them to anyone who likes romance, royalty, rebels and a whole lot of chaos.

Fortunately for us, we get to continue this story in the fourth and fifth books, which are about life after the selection. I think I may have loved the fourth book, “The Heir,” even more than the others and am absolutely dying for the fifth book, “The Crown,” to come out on May 3rd.

And if you love to read side stories of your favorite novels, Cass has written a whole book of them for us as well. “Happily Ever After” (I flinch at how cheesy the title is) is full of different points of views and insights into character’s pasts from “The Selection,” “The Elite” and “The One.” Sadly, it doesn’t include anything from the fourth novel, “The Heir.”

“The Selection” series may not seem like something you’d love to read but when you pick it up, you’ll find yourself unable to stop reading. Soon, it’ll be three days later and you have stayed up until 6 a.m. twice in order to read and finish all the novels. I still don’t really know how it happened, but now I find myself sitting here waiting impatiently for the next one. Stupid cliffhangers.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s