Leave a comment

Go back to what you thought as a freshman: From a freshman’s point of view

Aarron Coleman
Staff Writer
arc5059@lhup.edu

science-1182713_1280College, for most of us, marks a large milestone in our lives, preparing us for the next big thing. I went into college with my own set of expectations promising endless opportunities and new life experiences.. Oh boy, could I have been anymore wrong.

Not being in a school setting for quite some time (I am not a tradition freshman), I figured it would have a similar structure of high school with just a larger work load. To me, this included not having to study and being able to procrastinate, and  I could pass with no problem.

Unfortunately, that was not included in this year’s curriculum. I soon found myself falling behind in classes and, because of my stubborn pride (I blame my mother for this wonderful trait), I did not reach out to anyone for help. Ultimately, my grades suffered tremendously.

It was time for a major intervention. I took a step back and realized all that I did not accomplish that previous semester. Acknowledging these mistakes, I took a different approach.

books-1012088_1280Learning from a series of unfortunate mistakes, the next half of the semester things ran a little more smoothly. Studying for classes had become a religion and not asking for assistance when it was needed has become a thing of the past. Procrastination of course is still very much a part of my life, but it has become less frequent. All in all, I am finishing off my freshman year strong.

Even with a rough start to my college career, I still enjoyed my freshman year. I not only experienced many memorable moments, like making friends, but also  was able to enjoy my freshman year. It was the hardships that I endured and learned from that made the experience that much more enjoyable.

Looking forward, I am extremely excited for my upcoming years. I feel like a 5-year-old on Christmas Eve, salivating at the endless possibilities under the tree. I cannot wait for that moment where I can proudly mount my college degree in my home, marking the first chapter of a new story.

My advice to everyone, especially incoming freshmen, is that college is a wonderful experience and is filled with endless opportunities. With that said, college is hard work, but it is also what you make of it, and if you are willing to put in that hard work then you will make it just fine.

Having a well-thought-out agenda, and using all of the resources available to you (this also includes an academic advisor that works well with you), you will not only be able to have a successful college career, but also be able to enjoy your college years. Here are some wise words to live by: You are your own worst enemy, so don’t be afraid to take charge, and be all that you can be.

Summer 2016 Housing Web Banner-2

Leave a Reply

