Leave a comment

Thanks for the memories and the pizza

 

DSC_0020

Top (from left to right): Mary Jones, Amanda Thomas, Jayson Moyer, Tyler Dismore, Joanna HarlowBottom (from left to right): Sam Shirk, Kathleen Ellison, Caroline Clayton, Grace Harrison

In the five years I’ve been here at Lock Haven University, I’ve never met a group more caring and accepting then the Eagle Eye staff, and I’m not even a Communication major! Working with this group has taught me a lot about myself, writing and working with other people. As excited (and scared) I am about graduating, I know I’m going to miss everyone here at Lock Haven University, especially the friends I’ve made working on this newspaper.
-Mary Jones

These past four years have been some of the best years of my life, despite the stress accompanying. I’ve learned a lot about myself, and this paper was a big part of that. The staff will always be a second family to me. I’ve never felt as accepted in my life as I did walking through that door to the newsroom. I’ve learned so much: writing skills, people skill, leadership skills and all of it will help me later in life. I think being one of the editors was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. I’m going to miss LHU and even as I write this I’m tearing up. Thanks for the memories everyone!
-Sam Shirk

Even though I am not graduating, I am leaving the Haven, which means leaving the Eagle Eye. I was a completely different person when I first entered the Eagle Eye office at the beginning of the year, not knowing what I was getting myself into, but I am glad I took the risk. I met some amazing people, learned a lot about myself and realized there are people out there who want to help you. This is going to be hard to leave behind, but I have wonderful memories and laughter to look back on.
-Caroline Clayton

Over the last four years my professors, the Eagle Eye staff (both recent and long-absent) and my innumerable teammates on the Lock Haven University Rugby Football Club have graciously helped me gain professional and personal skills that will carry me into my career. Thank you for helping me succeed and enjoy myself at Lock Haven.
-Tyler Dinsmore

Working on the staff of the Eagle Eye over the past two and half years, first as a guest writer and then as a Copy Editor, I gained a lot of practice in my grammatical skills and increased my knowledge of working on a newspaper, which will help me in a future career of editing. I also met several wonderful people who worked hard beside me each week to create the best issue we can as members of the Eagle Eye staff. It’s hard to believe that I’ll be graduating so soon, but despite being a little nervous about going out into the real world, I feel ready to take on a new chapter in my life. I will miss all the amazing people I met throughout my four years at this university and will cherish the memories I made here.
-Lauren Waters

I spent three years avoiding joining the Eagle Eye. This year Kathleen was finally able to convince me to drink the Kool-Aid and I haven’t looked back since. Being part of this fantastic team has taught me more about myself than I could have ever anticipated. The experiences and, more importantly, the friends I’ve gained will stay with me long after I’ve left Lock Haven. Better late than never.
-Grace Harrison

It has been an amazing adventure from eating candy, to building forts; from being a columnist to being Editor-in-Chief. The Eagle Eye has been my home away from home, and I wouldn’t change a moment. I’m so proud of the work my staff has accomplished, and I feel honored to have been a part of it. I’m so grateful for the late nights in the office, the conferences, the friends, and the fun. I hope the “real world” is just as beautiful as the one I’m leaving now.
-Kathleen Ellison

Summer 2016 Housing Web Banner-2

Leave a Reply

