Leave a comment

Grandma introduced me to crack, now I’m introducing you

Tyler Tallmadge
Staff Writer
tpt1732@lhup.edu

I can easily say that my grandmother was the first person to introduce crack into my life. I was visiting one day when she asked me if I wanted to help her make a batch and I must admit that for a minute I was very confused. My gram is the kind of woman that will say just about anything to anyone without holding back, so to hear her ask if I wanted to help her make crack, I automatically assumed the worst. I was very wrong though. Crack is an addictively good snack that is easy to make and doesn’t take too long.

It’s a very basic recipe, not a lot goes into it. You’ll need a box of saltine crackers (you’ll use around 35 to 40 crackers), two sticks of butter, one cup of light brown sugar and eight ounces of milk chocolate chips. You’ll also need one or two cookie sheets an aluminum foil. Line the cookie sheets with the foil and spray the covered sheets with nonstick spray.

The first thing that you’ll do is preheat the oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit. Then, while it’s heating up, you’ll make a caramel to spread. In a medium sauce pan you’ll want to melt together the butter and brown sugar. You’ll want to boil it until it starts to turn into a caramel color. While they’re melting together line the cookie sheets with the crackers, the salted side face down. When the butter and sugar mixture has turned to a caramel color pour it over the crackers, making sure to cover them evenly.

After covering the crackers in the caramel put the sheet in the oven and bake it. You’ll only want to bake it until the caramel starts to bubble. This typically takes about three to five minutes, so watch carefully. If you leave it in the oven too long you can burn the caramel or burn the crackers. After you take it out of the oven you’ll then add the chocolate chips over top. The chips will start to melt a little bit, when that happens you’ll want to spread them out evenly with a knife.

Before you can finally eat this delicious snack you’ll need to transfer it to a freezer for about 15 to 20 minutes, or until it’s completely cold. It will form a large sheet that you will need to break apart to store. You can also eat it hot, just make sure that the caramel has cooled enough that it won’t burn your mouth. If you prefer your desserts warm and gooey, then I’d definitely recommend trying this recipe warm.

Leave a Reply

