Leave a comment

Dip into a new way to spruce up Thanksgiving

Megan McKenna
Staff Writer
mem271@lhup.edu

Dip into a new way to spruce up Thanksgiving

It’s that holiday time of year, and you know that means. Food! That’s right everyone, it is time to stuff yourself full of so much food that you can no longer breathe! However, when it comes to the holidays, I am as close as anyone can get to useless as it comes. I can’t really actually cook most kinds of foods, but there is one thing that I can do. I can make dips. You may be asking yourself how that is going to help you this holiday season, but trust me when I say that dip is any dish to bring to any party, and it really breaks up that traditional food selection. Since I want to help you out, I am going to share with you the recipe for pizza dip that my mom first coined long ago.

Making the dip is really easy. But first, it is important to get everything that you need to make the perfect dip. For pizza dip, you need basically what you think you would. All it takes is some pizza sauce, some mozzarella cheese, pepperoni, cream cheese and if you are feeling really adventurous, some chopped onion. When you do the pepperoni for this recipe, there are two options. The first option is to buy regular sized pepperoni and then chop it up until you reach the desired amount. The second option is for my lazy chefs out there. For this option, you can buy a bag of mini pepperoni and then you don’t have to worry about cutting anything. You can just dump in the correct amount. It is a great time saver if you are in a hurry.

In a large mixing bowl, combine together eight ounces of cream cheese, 16 ounces of pizza sauce, two cups of mozzarella cheese, and one cup of pepperoni. After you have put all of these ingredients together in the bowl, mix together thoroughly and make sure that all clumps of cream cheese are gone. This may take a little while because the cream cheese will put up a little bit of a fight, but once you get going, it won’t be too bad. When all is done you want it to be a pinkish color. I know that that sounds really gross, but I promise you that it needs to look like this. After that, you can add onion to your own preference. I very rarely put it in, but when I do, I don’t put more than a quarter of a cup. Putting in too much onion can be really overpowering to the pizza flavor, but for those that like a little more flavor depth can feel free to add as necessary.

Once you have your dip thoroughly mixed together, put it into a pan and bake in a covered pan at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  Personally, I would recommend baking it for 22 minutes in the oven. I find that this usually marks the perfect baking time. After it has cooled down, serve with tortilla chips and enjoy the deliciousness. Don’t worry about if it will taste gross when you put it in the fridge, it still tastes delicious! This dip is my favorite snack to eat during the holiday time, and hopefully it will be a welcome gift in your own holiday spirit!

Recipe courtesy of Karen McKenna.

Leave a Reply

