Artist Spotlight: Colin Harvey

Name: Colin Harvey

Hometown: Holland, PA

Age: 22

Fun fact about yourself:

My girlfriend and I are planning a volunteer trip to Ghana for a month this summer to help build school libraries and work on farms. We are going with the NGO Thrive Africa, and are currently fundraising.

When did you start playing/performing?

I started playing guitar when I was 15, and soon after a local band needed a bass player, so I started playing bass and performing with them.

What’s your favorite genre to play/listen to?

My favorite genres to listen to include various types of rock music. Some examples of bands are: Nahko and Medicine for the People, Grateful Dead, Wookiefoot and City of the Sun.

What your favorite piece you’ve performed?

Last semester, the band I’m in played a set outside the pavilions on the University Commons, and our favorite song to play was Sugar Magnolia by the Grateful Dead.

What/who has inspired you the most and why?

Early on, the members of Walk Off the Earth were my biggest inspiration. They are all multi-talented musicians and are able to switch instruments between songs without missing a beat. They inspired me to learn different kinds of instruments to be more valuable as a musician. More recently, the styles and lyrics of Nahko and Medicine for the People have been my inspiration. Nahko includes different aspects of music that you won’t find on the radio or in mainstream music, and his lyrics are well thought out and truly mean something. His music becomes more interesting and more meaningful once you research his story and his philosophy about life.

Is there an emotion that you wish to evoke when your audience hears you perform?

When I perform, I want the audience to feel the groove and be comfortable where they are. To me, music is the greatest way to cope, and surrendering to the sounds or instruments makes that music so much more enjoyable.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years with your music?

I don’t foresee myself becoming a professional musician, because I have other values I hold higher than what would come with that title, but I don’t ever see myself stopping my music. In 10 years I hope to be a father and husband, hopefully teaching my kids how to play and really appreciate music.

Do you try to incorporate your hometown into your music at all?

My hometown is not really a musical town, so I don’t include it in my music.

What other artists do you look up to? Or who is your favorite artist(s)?

Some artists I look up to are Nahko and Jerry Garcia, both have very unique styles that you won’t find anywhere else.

What kind of projects are you working on right now that we can look forward to checking out?

Right now, the band I am in is trying to recruit people for the LHU Rock Ensemble. This is a class on Fridays where we jam for a couple hours, and have a show at the end of the semester. If you play/know anyone that plays, please contact me and we will get you plugged in! We are looking for a keyboardist and either trumpets or saxophones.

Leave a Reply

