Top 10 banging Beatles songs

By Sophia Biddle
February 23, 2017

Not many people can argue against it: The Beatles, or the Fab Four, are one of the greatest bands of all time. Once an acquaintance told me that they thought The Beatles were a highly overrated band. It was at that moment that I realized that that person could never be a friend of mine. Whether you are a die-hard fan or you simply downloaded a couple of their more popular songs onto your phone, you can vouch that The Beatles have left their mark on the music industry. These are the top ten Beatles songs, in my humble opinion, in no particular order with a lyric to accompany the title:

“With a Little Help from My Friends” – One of my personal favorites, this song is all about the places your friends can go with you. Everyone needs friends; they support you and make life more fun. What would you think if I sang out of tune / Would you stand up and walk out on me? / Lend me your ears and I’ll sing you a song / And I’ll try not to sing out of key.

“I want to Hold Your Hand” – If you guessed this song was about wanting to hold someone’s hand, you are spot on! This song is about a guy trying to get a girl. Oh please say to me / You’ll let me be your man / And please say to me

“Yesterday” – If you are having a bad day and wish to continue wallowing in self pity, then proceed to listen to this song. The song is about difficult times lingering. Yesterday all my troubles seemed so far away. / Now it looks as though they’re here to stay. / Oh, I believe in yesterday.

“Let It Be” – This song is probably the most well known of The Beatles. If you have a Beatles song on your phone, it is probably this one. The song’s theme is telling the listener to let it go and trust that  things will turn out alright. And when the broken hearted people living in the world agree / There will be an answer, let it be

“Why My Guitar Gently Weeps” – This song takes a somber tone as it describes a guitar “weeping.” Coincidently, George Harrison makes the guitar weep beautifully as he plays it in the song.  I look at you all see the love there that’s sleeping / While my guitar gently weeps / I look at the floor and I see it needs sweeping / Still my guitar gently weeps

“Something” – This song is about your run of the mill guy falling in love…only it’s way better because it’s by The Beatles. Somewhere in her smile she knows / That I don’t need no other lover / Something in her style that shows me / I don’t want to leave her now / You know I believe in how

“Here Comes the Sun” – It is incredibly hard to listen to this song and not be in a good mood afterward. This song almost forces the listener to look on the bright side and is guaranteed to warm your heart. Little darling, I feel that ice is slowly melting / Little darling, it seems like years since it’s been clear / Here comes the sun / Here comes the sun, and I say / It’s all right

“Hey Jude” – As this low key song beep bops along, it reminds you that you can’t do everything and you certainly don’t have to. And anytime you feel the pain, hey Jude, refrain / Don’t carry the world upon your shoulders / For well you know that it’s a fool who plays it cool / By making his world a little colder

“Strawberry Fields Forever” – The name “Strawberry Fields” came from a Salvation Army that John used to go to in Liverpool. The real Strawberry Fields gave him the inspiration to write this lovely song that is highly thought provoking. Living is easy with eyes closed / Misunderstanding all you see / It’s getting hard to be someone / But it all works out / It doesn’t matter much to me

“In My Life” – This song makes you contemplate where you are in life and where you may go. This lovely ditty makes you appreciate the little things in life. There are places I’ll remember / All my life, though some have changed / Some forever, not for better / Some have gone and some remain

Leave a Reply

