The benefits and practical use of Twitter

Jayson Moyer

Editor-in-Chief

jpm362@lockhaven.edu

March 30, 2017

 

Social media has become such a dominant phenomenon in our society today.  With Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat all currently having sky-high popularities, for most of us, this is a big part of how we function on a daily basis.

Today, let’s focus on Twitter, and the benefits that come with it.  

Twitter is an extremely underrated tool in terms of how people receive their news.  Ten years ago, while the internet was still huge, people weren’t getting updates on their cell phones.  They weren’t dragging down on their cell phone screens to refresh a news feed.  It is amazing what has changed from then to now.

Now, a simple tweet can send out an instant viral news story.  Well, as much as 140 characters can hold, anyways.  This is an awesome benefit from Twitter.

Personally, I would say 85 percent of the accounts on Twitter deal with some form of news.  I follow tens of journalists, athletes, politicians, and news outlets.  This helps when obtaining information.

I will admit that I am one of the people who struggles not being on social media for even an hour.  However, with Twitter, I am glued to it because I am basically always catching up on the day’s events.

Another benefit of Twitter is its very user-friendly application, and even website.  All the mobile application takes is a simple dragging-down on the screen to refresh your feed.  Then all you do is just scroll.  It is a really easy-to-use tool.

Twitter is also a great place for people to connect with higher-standing members of society, such as athletes and politicians, as I noted earlier in the article.

In my freshman year at Lock Haven, I was really pushing hard to obtain and interview with James Franklin, head football coach at Penn State.  It was a total long-shot, don’t get me wrong.  I was completely aware of that.

After reaching out to multiple people within the athletic department, I heard no response.  Taking a giant leap of faith, I sent out a tweet to Franklin, mentioning where I went to school, the news outlet I was from, and how awesome it would be to interview him.

Needless to say, I woke up the next day to a direct message from Franklin at 5:00a.m. on Twitter, giving me the name of someone to reach out to.

While I still did not receive a response, this was a big-time coach of a big-time football program at a big-time school who took the time to follow me (even if it was for 30 seconds), just so he could send me a message to point me in the right direction.

That is just one example of the part of Twitter that does not get much recognition.

While Twitter can be very beneficial, there are also some nasty parts that come with Twitter, as is the same for all forms of social media.

The verbal vulgarity of some users on Twitter can be very troublesome at times.  Journalists get verbally slashed nonstop.  The same goes for all athletes, celebrities, and more.  The simple truth is that some things are highly inappropriate, but will never be able to be avoided.

Overall, if you don’t have Twitter, I would highly recommend downloading it.  I think you’ll be surprised at the efficiency and simplicity that comes with using Twitter.

And who knows, you might even come in contact with a celebrity, or two, while gaining some valuable information.

Leave a Reply

