Leave a comment

The Eagle Eye: Our favorite Lock Haven restaurants

The Eagle Eye continues with our series where we put all of our minds together to come up with a list of our favorite items from various topics.

This week, we are going to talk about our favorite restaurants in Lock Haven. If there is a sort of disappointing feeling on your end because of our list, well, we are sorry.

 

  1. OIP

Oddly enough, I am in love with OIP.  I should rephrase that: I am in love with both the Lock Haven and Mill Hall locations.  My go-to is the ham and cheese hoagie with extra mayo.  Then, I’ll grab some of the bacon-ranch cheese fries and a Mt. Dew.  This is the best casual restaurant(s) in the Lock Haven area and it is not even close.

–Jayson Moyer

 

  1. Old Corner

The bottle shop side is kind of a hole in the wall, granted. But whether I eat there, on the bar side or at home after ordering for take-out, I can always count on their chicken cheesesteak sub. Ask for “crushed” (wet red) peppers, hold the onions, and take it easy on the lettuce* and I’m in a state of culinary euphoria.

 

*Side note: Ever notice how every sub shop seems to pile on the lettuce in excess?

— John Sosnowski

 

  1. Shanghai Chinese Restaurant

Cheap, delicious food. Do I have your attention yet? Lunch specials are $5.00 and you’ll end up paying $6.75 for a dinner platter. If you go for lunch, you get your choice of meal plus rice and then an additional choice of soup or a soda. Fast forward to dinner and you can choose the meal, rice and an egg roll.

Added bonus: No matter how hungry I am pre-meal I leave feeling completely full for the entire day. It’s so bizarre. I normally eat from the moment I wake up until I fall asleep. That’s not the case when I have Shanhai, though. Give me that at 11:30 and I’m set and ready to take on the day.

— Bret Pallotto

 

  1. Sheetz (if you consider it a restaurant)

Bret said it counts as a restaurant, you heard it here first. I rarely eat out and when I do I just want to down some cheesy, tater tot filled food and in vast quantities and eat it until I can’t think about the school work I’m drowning in. I don’t want to talk to waiters and waitresses about the weather, I don’t want to wait to be seated- Heck, I don’t even want to sit- I want a receipt so I can pay and to go home with a paper bag dripping with grease.

–Derek Danneker

Leave a Reply

