The Eagle Eye’s ultimate picnic playlist

Katharine Grubb

Staff Writer

kmg183@lockhaven.edu

April 13, 2017

 

Your Ultimate Picnic Playlist

Spring is here, and while that may mean runny noses and watery eyes for some, the few lucky enough to escape the curse of allergies can enjoy fresh air, blooming flowers, and the blue sky/white clouds aesthetic the rest of us can’t. For some, spring means pulling out the hiking gear. For other, less hardcore nature enthusiasts, you may grab a blanket, pack a lunch and go soak in some springtime sunshine at your nearest park. For the latter, here is a playlist that is sure to complete your picnic experience.

  1. “I Got the Spring Fever Blues”, Ella Fitzgerald

“I feel so lazy, can’t do a thing / My mind is hazy just like a smoke ring / I think of nothing but lying in the hay / I got the spring fever blues”.

  1. “Here Comes the Sun”, The Beatles

“Little darling, it’s been a long cold lonely winter / Little darling, it feels like years since it’s been here / Here comes the sun, here comes the sun / And I say it’s all right”.

  1. “Toothpaste Kisses”, The Maccabees

“Lay with me, I’ll lay with you / We’ll do the things that lovers do / Put the stars in our eyes / And with heart shaped bruises / And late night kisses / Devine”.

  1. “La Vie En Rose”, Louis Armstrong

“When you kiss me, Heaven sighs / And though I close my eyes / I see la vie en rose”.

  1. “Daydream”, The Lovin’ Spoonful

“And even if time ain’t really on my side / It’s one of those days for takin’ a walk outside / I’m blowin’ the day to take a walk in the sun / And fall on my face on somebody’s new mowed lawn”.

  1. “Sugar, Sugar”, The Archies

“Ah sugar, ah honey honey / You are my candy girl / And you’ve got me wanting you”.

  1. “The 59th Street Bridge Song”, Simon & Garfunkel

“Slow down, you move too fast / You got to make the morning last / Just kicking down the cobble stones / Looking for fun and feelin’ groovy”.

  1. “Brown Eyed Girl”, Van Morrison

“In the misty morning fog with / Our, our hearts a-thumping / And you, my brown-eyed girl / You, my brown-eyed girl”.

  1. “Sweet Caroline”, Neil Diamond

“Sweet Caroline / Good times never seemed so good / I’d be inclined / To believe they never would”. [Type here]

  1. “Kiss Me”, Sixpence None the Richer

“Kiss me out of the bearded barley, / Lightly , beside the green, green grass / Swing, swing, swing the spinning step / You’ll wear those shoes and I will wear that dress”.

  1. “From Eden”, Hozier

“Honey you’re familiar like my mirror years ago / Idealism sits prison, chivalry fell on it’s sword / Innocence died screaming, honey ask me I should know / I slithered here from Eden just to sit outside your door”.

  1. “That’s All”, Frank Sinatra

“I can only give you love that lasts forever, / And the promise to be near each time you call, / And the only heart I own is yours and yours alone, that’s all, that’s all / I can only give you country walks in springtime”.

  1. “Tourist: A Love Song From Paris”, Jon Cozart

“We could fall for the streets of Paris / But the Eiffel’s a joke and the punchline is me / And you know, you know it’s not funny / But we’d laugh till it was / Just the two of us, thoughts from the tourist”.

  1. “Birds”, Thomas Sanders

“I just wanna watch the birds go by / From my handy foldable blue canvas throne / I wanna watch them fly and fly / And see them soar up into the unknown”.

  1. “Make Up Your Mind”, Delta Maid and Ed Harcourt

“When your attack is your only defense / And only madness makes common sense / I know what you’re going through cause / I can make my mind up too”.

 

Leave a Reply

